Home > Sochi 2014, Uncategorized > Response to 2012 Olympic Prediction

Response to 2012 Olympic Prediction

Thankfully, nothing occurred.  Personally, it would have been completely overwhelming if it had.  I faced the end of the closing ceremony with a mixture of apprehension, relief, embarrassment and exhaustion.  Though this was not a prediction that came from the Lord (obviously), through this experience He has taught me much about humility.  He is in control, and He holds every card:

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”   Isaiah 55:9

I don’t regret posting these thoughts – my view hasn’t changed, I still believe such an event is coming.  And if such a thing should occur yet in a different place, or at a different time, or in a different manner, the outline has been established, the narrative has been exposed and the thought has been documented.  But I take comfort in His sovereignty and grace, not in my fallible attempts to see what’s coming around the corner.  That doesn’t mean it’s wrong to deduce possibilities and make a reasonable guess, but that light of reason can never be so accurate a map to point the way as a loving Shepherd who guides you personally:

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”   Psalm 119:105

In the greater picture, it does not matter.  If you are with Jesus, the world will pass away and all that is broken within it (you and me included) to then be reborn along with a new earth and a new Jerusalem.  Therefore, we do not fear – that includes the fear of being wrong, the fear of risk, of speaking that which is in your heart presently.  We are free to think, and free to express those thoughts responsibly. 

That being said, these are my thoughts:

The Winter Olympic games takes place February 2014 in Sochi Russia.  I leave this as a simple comparison.  Study the images carefully, be objective and use your God-given power of analysis:

ImageImage

* * *

ImageImage

* * *

Categories: Sochi 2014, Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

